And the paperwork is off!

It’s finished.  It’s in the mail…4 months after when I had intended to send it.  I can’t explain why I waited.  I can only say I hit a wall.  I was tired.  I was discouraged.  I was emotionally trying to prepare myself for this next leg of the journey.  

Both the Provincial and the International adoption paperwork was mailed today.  Tomorrow I’ll make the phone call and pay the $300 to officially reopen our International Adoption file.  Then we’ll wait. We’ll wait for a phone call or a letter explaining the next step of the process which will most likely be a home study.  In this case it will most likely mean 2 home studies:  one for Provincial adoption and one for International adoption.  Then we’ll see what doors open and what doors close.  

I’ve started writing letters to my next child/children.  With Christmas approaching, I’ve been wondering if they’re born yet, where they are living, what kind of life they currently have…I just want to find them and bring them home to be a part of our family.

The waiting isn’t easy, but I will say that with James in the house it is easier.  He is such a delight.  I often forget he is adopted, and I have plans to write him his story in the form of a children’s book.  Another year or so, and I’ll be having a conversation with him which those of you who have biological children never have to think about.  I often point to pictures of his biological mother and tell him who she is, but he’s still quite young to really grasp the concept.  Some people don’t seem to understand why we’d tell him so young, but you’d be amazing how well children adapt.  I want him to feel proud of who he is and of how God brought him to us.  It really is a miraculous story.

I will try to update more often – not just about the adoption, but about the adventures in our household.  James is starting to do some really comical things, and I fear if I don’t write them down I’ll forget them!  Thanks for your patience.  I’m ready to open up my heart again and write.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “And the paperwork is off!

  1. Karen

    I’m glad that you have taken the next step. We are hoping to build next year and then our journey may begin. We are hoping to re-open our file with the Province as soon as we have a suitable place to live.

  2. I’m so proud of the three of you and wish that I could put to paper all that you mean to us. I eagerly wait to see what God has in store for your next journey. James is truly a blessing to all of us. Mom and Dad Crockett.

  3. Joy

    Sarah, I’m so excited for you guys! May God continue to bring your family together in miraculous ways! I also think it’s great you’re being open with James about his adoption. It’s not something to be ashamed of, but something to be celebrated! May God give you and Ben wisdom as you talk about adoption with James as he grows.

    Merry Christmas!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

