Another step in the journey…

This morning I woke up, and it was snowing. Not a harsh, stormy snow but a gentle, peaceful snow. I thought to myself, “Will the weather change? Will we really get to meet baby’s birth dad today?” Thankfully I was teaching, so I had plenty to keep my mind occupied, but as the day was nearing its end I couldn’t help but wonder what the evening would hold.  I got little jitter bugs in my stomach as I puttered around the house folding laundry and doing dishes – waiting for Ben to come home and for our company to arrive.  What if they come to tell us they’ve decided to keep the baby?  What if he doesn’t like us?  What if it is awkward?  As usual, the “what if’s” like to come and plague me, and then I have to remind myself that God has a plan, and I have to trust Him.  It’s not about what I want, but about what God wants.  This is just another part of the journey.

When Wendy and the birth dad arrived, we managed to get past the “are you nervous” questions early on. We had plenty of time to talk about each other, and while sitting at the dinner table he was quite candid with us about how he had felt and how he felt about Wendy having met us. He even expressed that he was happy she found a good home for the baby as he does want him to have a good life. He also explained somewhat as to how he was feeling earlier on in the pregnancy and why he had responded as he did, not as to justify himself but as a means of trying to let us know how he was feeling. Quite frankly, I thought it must have taken him courage after all of this time to come and meet us and to try and make amends for his earlier responses to the pregnancy.

I have to admit that I am still reflecting on the visit. I think the birth dad has a great personality. He seems quite out going and fun loving. He plays some guitar and is into snowboarding and other sports. He even likes acting (drama). For those of you who are curious about his looks, I give him 2 thumbs up! Ha! Ha! It was nice to finally have a face with the name and to meet the other half of our baby. After he left I said to Ben, “Between his birth dad and birth mom, this little guy should be really well rounded!”

Will there be other visits?  Yes.  Does Wendy feel good about things?  Yes.  Do we?  Yes.  I continue to feel humbled and blessed by how the Lord is working.  I am grateful that the Lord has expanded the capacity of our hearts to love these two young people. I continue to admire Wendy’s courage and strength as she works through each step of the process.  I think that there are going to be some emotional days ahead for all people involved and of course, I can’t stress enough that prayer is the key.

Thank you so much for praying for us.  Your notes on here, face-book, and e-mail mean a great deal. I may not always have time to respond to all, but I want you to know that your prayers are felt, and they DO make a difference.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Another step in the journey…

  1. Laura

    Ok I am doubling up on the prayer time for you guys….and so is Kevin. We know the stress of this and what you are going through and seriously if you ever need a shoulder to cry on….somebody to listen I am here. God will take care of this…and he will take care of you. Something that always encouraged me was that God has a purpose and a plan for everything and He knows your worries and stresses. I know you know this already, but I want to encourage you that you are not alone. I know your worries, I know your fears and I will be praying specifically for your journey. Our God is a BIG God!!!

  2. Sandra

    Sarah, I am so happy to hear your wonderful update. Glad the meeting went well and before long….you will be a Mom!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

