Coincidence? I think not!

God has been doing some incredible things concerning our adoption lately. There is no way someone could tell me they were coincidental. The things that I’m about to tell you could only be attributed to a God who orchestrates things in His way and His timing.

Monday, September 21, 2009 – Dad should have been home by now, but on this particular day, he had to show a college student the school in which he/she would be doing his/her student ministry. After making it back to the college, he noticed a vehicle in which its occupants looked as if they weren’t sure where they were going. In actuality, the daughter and her mother had decided to drive around the campus to see what it looked like. Thinking it was one of his education students who had decided to enroll late, he waved them down and ran over to talk to them. Although he soon discovered it wasn’t who he thought it was, he was in for the surprise of his life. While they were talking (because we all know dad loves to make time for people), he was mentioning that his daughter (yours truly) use to work for Bethany but missed teaching too much, so she left to pursue her passion. The young lady whom he was speaking with took note of this, and quickly made the connection that she was meeting my dad. Who was the daughter my dad was speaking with?Our birth mom! She told my dad who she was and that she was carrying our child/allowing us to adopt her baby. Of course, my dad got quite emotional and said, “Well get out of the vehicle so I can give you a hug!”  Upon which with tears, he gave her a kiss on the cheek and a hug.  He then spoke with her and her mom for another 15 minutes.  The birth mom was so excited afterwards that she phoned to tell me. Dad was so excited (and emotional), he phoned mom.  Then I phoned Mom.  Then Dad phoned me.  So it was quite a hub-bub of excitement as you can well imagine.  Of course, my dad quickly saw just how sweet our birth mom is.  I don’t think I could have arranged things any better!  Coincidence? I think not!

Sunday, September 27, 2009 – I was leading worship at Sussex Wesleyan and the Spirit of the Lord moved me to share a brief update on our circumstances. I didn’t go to church intending to share it, but God enabled it to be so, and used me to encourage others who were facing difficult circumstances. It even tied in with the morning message! Afterwards, a young lady came up to me who is from Fredericton, and she and her husband are practically going through the same thing as we are. She and her husband have wanted children for 4 years. We also discovered that our birth moms are both 20, are in communication with us regularly, and are due a month apart! She just happened to be visiting her mother that weekend, and I just happened to share my testimony. Coincidence?  I think not!

So it seems that God is calming my fears and providing me with moments that I can hold onto.  Chances are I’ll be introducing you to the birth mom in due time if things continue to progress as they are, but right now, Ben and I continue to respect her privacy.  This will change in due time as she feels comfortable, since we believe that, so long as she would like, she’s going to be a part of our family in some way. Last week she asked me to be in the delivery room with her of which I will be honored to do so, and this week, she and I talked about how she could be referred to as “Auntie” in our little guy’s life.  I cannot comprehend why the Lord chose me for this, or why the Lord chose her to be a part of our lives, but it seems He has taken my fears and enabled me to face them.

Am I in the “clearing” yet?  No.  Could things change?  Sure.  Could I get hurt? Possibly.  Will I trust in God?  Yes.

I know. It’s wild. It may even sound crazy. It’s surreal. Yet it’s how God is working in my life and in Ben’s life.  The two above stories that I consider not to be coincidental, along with countless other things that have happened to Ben and me throughout this journey, have led me to believe that I must not lose hope.  I must not lose heart.  I must continue to trust in God.  God has proven himself faithful.  Amen.

“Trust in the LORD and do good.  Then you will live safely in the land and prosper. Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you your heart’s desires. Commit everything you do to the LORD. Trust him, and he will help you….Be still in the presence of the LORD, and wait patiently for him to act.”  Psalm 37: 3-5; 7a  NLT

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Coincidence? I think not!

  1. Oh, Sarah, your post left me in tears…how wonderful!

  2. Elizabeth G

    Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart !! I think the weekend Beth Moore was also for you!!!

  3. Sandi T.

    You have been blessed with the joy of going through this experience knowing that God is in it. God is sovereign. His promises are true and you and Ben are seeing them fulfilled. All Glory goes to HIm for He is worthy. To hear all that has happened so far through this whole experience really helps prove that God is real and He does care about each of His children. He is with us each day in a real way. As long as you place each day in His care, you both will experience the joy and peace that only He can give. Praise God from whom all Blessings flow!!

  4. hdurkee

    I love to see how the Lord is working in you! I also love hearing the testimonies.

    You are an amazing and STRONG woman!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

